{Travel Snacks} Homemade Nut Butters

21 Jul

Sometimes, the food is the best part of the journey.

IMG_1024

One thing I never forget to pack when I am leaving home is my food. Whether it be for a long day of classes as a college student, a road trip for the weekend, or hours in the airport traveling across the country, I always remember to plan.

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.

That is something I heard awhile back that always stuck with me. It is so very true. The times that I haven’t had time to plan my food for a long day away from the house, I always end up eating unhealthy, last resort foods after becoming too hungry. That is why I’m sharing with you an easy, travel-friendly snack that is a safe option no matter how far your travels are taking you.

I must admit, this is my favorite snack, even when I’m not traveling. It is my go-to food whenever I get those hunger pains mid-day. But when the theme this month for Recipe Redux was travel food, I knew immediately what I wanted to share.

Homemade Nut Butter. All kinds. With fresh, crunchy celery as dippers, or even apple slices. Could there be anything more delicious or refreshing? Is has those healthy fats along with protein to keep you satisfied.  The best thing about it, is they are airport safe! I take a little container of my nut butters every time I fly, and have never had a problem. What is the great result? Instead of eating those salty, oil saturated peanuts, I enjoy my healthy, all natural nut butter with some veggies or fruit!

IMG_1022

I have a couple of homemade nut butters on my site already, like my Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter, my healthy version of Nutella called “Not-tella“, and my Almond Joy Butter. But I made two new, absolutely delicious butters to share with you today. Something I love to live by for most of my diet, keep it simple, yet keep it tasty. These nut butters are just that. Coconut Cashew Butter & Cinnamon Java Butter

IMG_0067

Cinnamon Java Almond Butter

– 1 cup almonds, toasted
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tsp instant coffee powder
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Directions: Place nuts in food processor and blend until butter forms (this will take at least 5 to 10 minutes).

IMG_6559
Cashew Coconut Butter

– 1 cup cashews, toasted
– 1 tsp coconut extract
– 1 tsp coconut oil
– optional: 2T unsweetened shredded coconut, stirred into final product
Directions: Place nuts into food processor. Blend until butter forms (again, about 5-10 minutes). Add extract and oil and blend for about 10 more seconds. Keep in container.

*Neither of these butters need to be refrigerated if consuming within a week!

IMG_0039

Yum. And benefits?

Almond Benefits
1) Reduce Heart Attack Risk
2) Lower Bad Cholesterol
3) Protect artery walls from damage
4) Build strong bones and teeth
5) Provide healthy fats and aid in weight loss
6) Lower rise in blood sugar after meals
7) Alkalize the body

Cashew Benefits
1) Prevents Cancer
2) Heart Health
3) Increases Hair and Skin health
4) Beneficial for Bone Health
5) Good for the nerves
6) Prevents Gallstones
7) Aids in weight loss

Coconut Benefits
1) Fights viruses and bacteria growth in body
2) Fights yeast, fungus, and candida
3) Positively affects hormones for thyroid and blood-sugar control which leads to increase metabolism, energy and endurance
4) Aids in digestion
5) Absorbs fat soluble vitamins
6) Lowers cholesterol
7) Special fat called medium chain triglycerides (Research shows 2T a day allowed women not only to gain less weight but lower abdominal fat)

Sources: doctoroz.com, care2.com

21 Responses to “{Travel Snacks} Homemade Nut Butters”

  1. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) July 21, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    There’s nothing like peanut butter and celery – reminds me of my childhood! I love all the different nut butter flavor combos you got going on – I really need to invest in a Vitamix as my food processor is on it’s last leg.

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      I loved it throughout my childhood, and still love it now! Thank you, I go through a batch within just a few days so I’m making it quite frequently :)

      p.s. My friend just bought the vitamix thinking it would be great as a food processor too, but said she has yet to get the right consistency for nut butter with it being so deep compared to a typical processor. Just a heads up as I was wanting one too!

  2. Dietitian Debbie July 21, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    I am totally a nut butter addict. :-) I pack a sliced apple with peanut butter in my lunch for almost every day! I haven’t yet tried my hand at making homemade nut butter, but your recipes look so delicious, I just might have to break out the food processor to give it a try!

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      When you’re skipping out on typical fattening foods, nut butters are the best place to find those healthy needed fats in my opinion :) I too eat so much daily (along with avocados)! You should definitely give it a try when you have the time :)

  3. nutritionbudgeteer July 21, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    I love the names of your various nut butters. Sounds like food processors do all the work and make it so easy to make.

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      It truly is the easiest to make! A little patience is needed as it does take a lot of processing time, but that isn’t any work you have to do :)

  4. robinplotkin July 21, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    I’ve recently found the lite with “natural” nut butters. This has inspired me to start making them at home!! Thanks!

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      I’m glad I could inspire :) I use to buy it all the time too until I realized how much better homemade butter was for you (and how much better it tastes!).

  5. robinplotkin July 21, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    I’ve recently found the light with natural nut butters. This post inspires me to try it at home, too! The celery shots are so FUN!

  6. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health July 21, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

    any nut butter with apples or a slice of toast is my favorite :)

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Same here! I am in love with nut butter in general, so anything along with it is a win for me :)

  7. dianeboy July 21, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    These both sound delicious; I have some clients I will share this with. And your blog too!

  8. ashleymariegalloway July 21, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    These nut butters look amazing! I have been wanting to make my own and your post just gave me the final push to do it! Keep up the great work :)

    • freshfitnhealthy July 21, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      I’m so happy you are going to try it out, I promise it will be worth it! They taste so much better than store-bought :) And you control what goes in it!

  9. Meal Makeover Mom Janice July 23, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Just brought out the food processor to make the Cinnamon Java Almond Butter. I’ll put it in my daughter’s lunch box tomorrow. Great recipes and great photo!

    • freshfitnhealthy July 23, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Ah that is so exciting! I hope you and your daughter like it! And thank you :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 8 Minute Abs | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 24, 2013

    […] to actually help prevent weight gain in your belly. Fat is your friend, no foe :) (look here and here for some great healthy fat […]

  2. Fun Survey and E-Book Release! | Fresh Fit N Healthy - August 4, 2013

    […] its fresh fruits and veggies with some kind of dip like yogurt and cottage cheese for fruit and nut butters and hummus for veggies! Here are some of my favorite […]

  3. Healthy Pumpkin Challah | Fresh Fit N Healthy - November 17, 2013

    […] some coconut oil and cinnamon, some agave, or some of my delicious homemade nut butters (like my java one, almond joy one, or even better, my healthy “not-tella” […]

Leave a comment