Crockpot Pumpkin Apple Butter [RecipeRedux]

21 Oct

Have you ever tried apple butter or pumpkin butter?? If not, you are missing out. IMG_5315

The only thing is, the apple butter I fell in love with as a kid is full of sugar…not something I would want to be consuming on a daily basis. I loved putting spoonfuls on my toast when I was younger, but the store bought stuff is certainly not an everyday toast spread for one wanting to live healthy or watch their calories. And that is why I knew I had to make my own. IMG_5256

When going to make one of the butters though, I couldn’t decide which to make! And that is why I decided to combine BOTH of these delicious fall flavors into ONE jar. Yes, I decided to make pumpkin apple butter :) That is why I decided to make my own. And I thought what better way to do it than in a crock pot?? Pumpkin and apple butter are always usually cooked on the stove. But slow cooking in the crock pot just seemed like a great idea. And it turned out to be just that.

IMG_5276

Spread on toast, put on top of yogurt or oatmeal, or eat as a delicious dip, this pumpkin apple butter is one that you will be glad you have on hand. IMG_5309

Pumpkin Apple Butter

-Makes about 1 16oz jar-

-2 cups Pumpkin Puree (one pie pumpkin, cooked and blended)

-1 Apple, sliced thin

-1/2 cup Apple Juice or Coconut Water

-1/4 cup Brown Sugar

-1/4 cup Baking Stevia

-1T Cinnamon

-1/4 teaspoon each: Nutmeg, Ginger, Cloves

-1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

-1/2 teaspoon Lemon Juice

-Dash of Sea Salt

Directions: Add all ingredients in crock pot, and stir until all ingredients are combined. Cover crock pot, and turn crock pot on low. Allow to slow cook for 3 to 4 hours. Turn crock pot off. Allow to cool. Place crock pot contents into high speed blender and blend until smooth. Transfer to 16oz jar, and keep refrigerated. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before using.

Apple Benefits 1)Reduces tooth decay by lowering levels of bacteria 2)Keeps Alzheimer’s away and fights aging effects on brain 3) Curbs Cancer because of flavonol richness 4)Decreases risk of diabetes (due to soluble fiber amount) 5)Reduces Cholesterol 6) High in fiber keeps digestive tract optimal 7)Neutralize Irritable Bowel Syndrome (high fiber content) 8) Detoxes Liver 9) Boosts immune system

Pumpkin Benefits: 1) High in Vitamin aid which aids in eyesight 2) High in fiber to keep you satisfied 3) Rich in Beta Carotene with plays a role in cancer prevention and benefit your skin 4) More potassium than a banana (great post workout food!) 5) Rich in Vitamin C to keep you fit and healthy

24 Responses to “Crockpot Pumpkin Apple Butter [RecipeRedux]”

  1. dianeboy October 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    I have never had pumpkin butter, but have been a fan of apple butter since childhood. Nice redux! YUM!

    • freshfitnhealthy October 21, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Thank you Diane! You should definitely try it out sometime :)

  2. Michelle October 21, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    Could you make this only using pumpkin? Is so how could I adjust the recipe?
    Thanks

    • freshfitnhealthy October 21, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      Hi Michelle! You could definitely just add in about double the pumpkin and forget the apple! I haven’t done it this way, but I am sure it would still be great :)

  3. Julie @ RDelicious Kitchen October 21, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    This is a really good foodie gift idea!

  4. Michelle October 22, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    Thank you! I just love love pumpkin and this is a perfect recipe! thanks for sharing!

  5. Jodye @ Whole Pure Recipes October 22, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    Looks like we were on the same page with our slow cooker recipes! pumpkin and apple are the best fall flavors in my opinion!

    • freshfitnhealthy October 23, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      Haha looks like it! It certainly is though. My favorite season of all :)

  6. Quincy @ Shugurcän October 22, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    I love that you decided to combine these two flavors! I can’t wait to make this. And I love that your recipe contains less sugar than most.

    • freshfitnhealthy October 23, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      :) I hope you enjoy it! I definitely try to keep the sugar low in all of my recipes :)

  7. TIFF October 23, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    Thanks for sharing, it sounds delicious!

    Do you know the shelf life on this?

    • freshfitnhealthy October 23, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Mine has been in the fridge for 2 weeks now and is still good! But if you actually canned it properly, it could have a very long shelf life and not need to be refrigerated!

  8. Mireya Merritt October 23, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    I love apple butter and I love pumpkin butter, so I imagine that apple pumpkin butter has to be pretty good. I’m going to go get the crockpot out.
    Mireya @myhealthyeatinghabits

    (I am new to TheRecipeReDux)

    • freshfitnhealthy October 23, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      Awh welcome to Recipe Redux!! That was my thinking as well when I made this. Hope you enjoy :)

  9. Kristen RD, LD (@swankydietitian) October 23, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    This looks incredible!
    I was thinking about cooking and baking as gifts for the holidays so this would be perfect!

  10. Dr Barb, Nutrition budgeteer October 23, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    You and I were thinking along the same lines this month. I offered a recipe for pumpkin butter but I like your addition of apple.

    • freshfitnhealthy October 23, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      I almost went with a pure pumpkin butter as I’m certainly a pumpkinholic :) Your recipe looks delicious as well!

  11. nutritionbudgeteer October 23, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    Hi, Sarah: we were thinking along the same lines this month. I posted a recipe for pumpkin butter. I like your combination of apple and pumpkin.

  12. Jlw October 25, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    Could you use regular water I stead of apple juice or coconut water? Looks wonderful!!!!!!

    • freshfitnhealthy October 26, 2013 at 11:23 am #

      You may be able to! It just may be a little diluted tasting compared to what it tastes like with apple juice/coconut water. But I’m sure it would still work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cinnamon Apple Pancake Mix [Recipe Redux] | Fresh Fit N Healthy - November 21, 2013

    […] you know what would be a delicious topping on these? My homemade Apple Pumpkin Butter […]

Leave a Reply

