Pumpkin French Toast

14 Oct

One thing I think we all had when at least once growing up, French Toast. But what I bet you haven’t had before is this kind. One that’s filled with the sweet, cinnamon flavor mixed with the savory taste of pumpkin.

frenchtoast3

Got your attention yet?

Well I took something that’s not usually known to be healthy, like French toast, filled it with protein and nutrient dense ingredients, and came up with my recipe for Pumpkin French Toast :) I love it because it’s a decadent breakfast made in only a few minutes. Yes, something you don’t have to spend the whole morning toiling over! And in case you are wondering, no, I promise not every one of my posts will have pumpkin in it…but I must admit, it is one of my favorite foods. Plus, it has so many health benefits :)

frenchtoast2

Pumpkin French Toast

-2 egg whites
-1/4 cup pumpkin
-1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1 T  agave/honey/stevia/sugar
-2 slices of Ezekiel bread
-Optional Toppings: pumpkin butter, banana, peanut butter, agave, coconut whipped topping

Directions: Combine first 5 ingredients together in bowl. Soak bread in mixture on both sides. Fry on stove in pan until browned on both sides. Serve with desired toppings and enjoy!

Coconut Whipped Topping

*Refrigerate a can of coconut milk overnight. Open can and scoop off the thick part on top. Beat with electric mixers until a cream has formed. Simple and delicious!

 

5 Responses to “Pumpkin French Toast”

  1. health advocation March 5, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

    yummy this sounds delicious!

    • freshfitnhealthy March 5, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      it certainly was! Let me know if you decide to try it out :)

  2. Vicki Clark March 9, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    So how many calories do u think the 2 of these have? I’m making them as soon as I get some of the ingredients im missing in about an hour

    • freshfitnhealthy March 11, 2013 at 1:26 am #

      Hi Vicki! It would depend on what bread you use, but for mine (80 calories a slice), and using the other ingredients I listed, the actual french toast would be about 230! Ans then you would have to add whatever toppings you put on it as well :) Very healthy meal! Hope you enjoy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Breakfast Pudding | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 4, 2013

    […] to use my fresh pumpkin in my breakfast, but wasn’t wanting anything hot like oatmeal or my pumpkin french toast. I knew I wanted some of my all natural, 4-ingredient cottage cheese as well, and that is when the […]

Leave a Reply

