Spaghetti Squash Cakes, Sliders, and Pizza!

2 Aug

Remember that spaghetti squash I posted about yesterday? Well I have some fun creations for you all to try out next time you cook one.

There was a fun burger contest I was competing in on Instagram, and the day’s theme was sliders. I decided to get creative with my leftover spaghetti squash.

DSC_0038

Yep, for part of my creation, I decided to try to make some Spaghetti Squash Cakes. Wow, I could have eaten them all just plain like that! But I resisted (at least most of them) so I could create my desired product. Spaghetti and Meatball Sliders.

DSC_0019

These were so delicious. And so quick and simple! If you’re like me, and made my delicious turkey meatballs, and froze them for when wanting them (great food prep idea for quick meals), then you are basically set to go! Coupled with my homemade tomato basil sauce from yesterday, and you’ve got yourself some delicious yet healthy sliders.

But then another idea came. Why not make all the mini patties, into one, big patty. Or shall I say, pizza crust? :)

DSC_0066

Yes I sure did! I made a personal spaghetti pizza with some more spaghetti squash, by doubling my patty recipe! Using the same exact ingredients, but just in a new way! With so many different meal options, why not make my homemade turkey meatballs and tomato basil sauce, and freeze to have on hand?!

DSC_0061

Spaghetti Squash Cakes
Makes about 8 mini patties
-1 cup spaghetti squash,cooked
-1T coconut flour
-1T ground flaxseed
-1 egg white
-1 tsp dried oregano
-1/4 tsp each: garlic salt, onion powder

Directions: Combine all ingredients in bowl and stir until thoroughly mixed. Heat non stick pan on stove over medium heat. Form small patties with hands and place on hot pan. Cook about 5 minutes on each side, or until browned. Eat plain, as a side to a meal, or make my sliders or pizza below!

Spaghetti Sliders
-1 recipe of Spaghetti Squash patties, see above
-1/4 cup homemade tomato basil sauce, here (or any tomato sauce)
-4 Spinach and Sundried Tomato Turkey Meatballs, here
-1 big handful sauteed spinach
-1/4 cup low fat crumbled feta cheese (or cheese of choice)

Directions: Make patties according to recipe. Place half of the patties on a plate. Layer with sauteed spinach, tomato sauce, one small meatball, and feta cheese. Top with other patty. Enjoy!

Spaghetti Pizza-makes 1 big personal pizza
-2 batches of Spaghetti Squash Patty ingredients, above
-1/2 cup homemade tomato basil sauce (or tomato sauce of choice)
-2 spinach and sundried tomato turkey meatballs, crumbled into bits
-1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
-a few fresh basil leaves
-sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place ingredients for two batches worth of spaghetti squash patties in bowl. Mix until thoroughly combined. Spread out onto a piece of parchment paper, sprayed with non-stick spray. Flatten to desired thickness. Bake in oven for about 30 minutes, or until reaching desired crispness. Remove from oven and top with spaghetti sauce. Sprinkle crumbled meatballs and feta cheese, and top with basil leaves. Add sea salt and pepper to taste

Spaghetti Squash Benefits
1) Rich in vitamin C
2) Contains vitamins A, B-6, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folate, pantothenic acid, and vitamin K
3) Rich in minerals that lead to good healthy, the dominant being manganese. This aids in healthy bones, tissues, and sex hormones, and also plays in metabolism and regulation of blood sugar.
4) High in fiber, leading to satiety and decrease of cardiovascular disease
5) Only 42 calories in 1 cup compared to about 200 in a cup of spaghetti.

Tomato Benefits
1)Low in calories
2)High in vitamin C
3)Good source of vitamins A,K,folate and potassium
4)Provides thiamin, niacin, vitamin B6, magnesium, phosphorous, and copper
5)Source of fiber
6)High water content
7)Source of beta-carotene and lycopene (good skin protectors)

8 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash Cakes, Sliders, and Pizza!”

  1. SlenderGrapefruit August 2, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    I can’t wait to try the spaghetti squash cakes! I don’t have any coconut flour though. Can I substitute whole wheat flour? And how much should I use? Thanks!

    • freshfitnhealthy August 2, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Yes definitely! You should be able to use equal amount of any other flour, I just like the taste of the coconut one :) It is a little drier, so you may use 1.5T actually, it will depend. Just see if it needs a little more after adding 1T :)

  2. run2yourownbeat August 6, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    This is such a good idea! I’m going to have to try it soon! :) I’ve never thought of using spaghetti squash as a substitute for bread

  3. chemgradboom August 13, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    All of these look amazing and I can’t wait to get some Squash from my local Farmer’s Market and try them out!
    -Caitlyn / chemgradboom

    • freshfitnhealthy August 13, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

      Thank you Caitlyn, you’ll have to tell me how you like them!

  4. thefightingdisillusionist September 7, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Tried the pizza tonight for dinner. Substituted parm. flakes and chicken sausage since thats what I had. Loved it! Thanks!

    • freshfitnhealthy September 8, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

      Yay glad you liked it! It is definitely fun and easy to make substitutions, so I’m glad you did just that with great results!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spaghetti Squash; what the… ? | ~ ~ ~ The Food And The Fun ~ ~ ~ - August 22, 2013

    […] Spaghetti Squash Cakes, Sliders, and Pizza! (freshfitnhealthy.com) […]

Leave a Reply

