What is Unconditional Love?

27 Jul

Do I even know the true definition of this anymore?

Everything of this world is constantly promising me love, yet is also constantly letting me down. Whether it is physical things I turn to in search for some sense of security, or the closest of my relationships, they all fail me.

But there is great news. There is something that will never fail us. A friend that does exemplify the true meaning of unconditional love. His name is Jesus.

When I hit an all time low, when I am running away from everything, when I am in the darkest of places, Jesus stays right by my side. When I feel like everyone else has forgotten me, or has run the opposite way in hopes to avoid me, Jesus is calling out my name. When I fall and cannot get back up, Jesus reaches out his hand to raise me up once again. Even when I am looking in every other place for comfort and security except for Him, when I disobey and blow him off, He remains the same. He continually loves me. That, is the definition of unconditional love.

“I loved you at your darkest” Romans 5:8

Jesus has a sense of humor I’ve realized. Sometimes He speaks to me through church services, and praise music..but then sometimes He speaks to me in humorous ways.

Meet Gracie, my lovely Labrador puppy (not exactly a puppy anymore).IMG_1107

There is no perfect example of unconditional love except Jesus, but He has provided me this gem as a reminded of what it looks like. See, no matter what I do, how many times I scream at her, how many times I forget to take her out because I’m “too busy”, or how many times I simply just ignore her presence because I have too much to do, she still loves me.

Last summer when I was still competitively running each day, I was injured during a run and was stuck laying and sitting for two weeks straight with over 30 stitches in my knee (I’ll spare you a picture of the actual battle wound, my coach said it looked like a shark bite). I was feeling so low, as I couldn’t run anymore, couldn’t even go outside much, or do the simple things I once took for granted. I felt like a lot of my friends didn’t understand what I was going through, and didn’t reach out to me in a time of need. But one thing exemplified love still (ignore my lovely just-got-done-crying-for-hours self).

IMG_1858

It was the cutest thing. She is usually very rough, but she knew. And she slowly one leg at a time came into my lap as I sat at the computer chair with my leg elevated. It was like she knew she needed to be gentle, but she knew I needed some love right then and there.

Then the other day Jesus reminded me once again of His unconditional love through this amazing little pup of mine. I was “too busy” to give her any attention, and unfortunately, my stress got the best of me and I screamed at her when she began whining to go out. I didn’t have “time to waste” on her when I had organic chemistry that needed to be done (even though I made time to lay out and go in my pool). But even after screaming at her and striving to ignore her the best I could, she still showed me nothing but love. Even while sitting in my chair doing homework..

photo

Whether it be through diving into His word today, or through something as silly as a pet, I hope God shows you the meaning of unconditional love today, as you realize just how special the gift He has to offer is<3

I’ll leave off with my prayer for all of you today..

“And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love,
 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people,
 to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love
of Christ..” Ephesians 3:17-18

**If you’d like to talk more about this unconditional love, or have never heard of God’s great gift He has to offer, please feel free to contact me <3.
5 Responses to “What is Unconditional Love?”

  1. IG : sunshine0614 Pam Graber July 27, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    I love this post, very humble. Thank you for posting it. I am a Jewish woman who accepted the Messiah; in Hebrew his name is Yeshua which means salvation, and He is!! When I read your post the word blessed came to mind, in Hebrew it means to be content and secure. You are definitely blessed. 😄

    • freshfitnhealthy July 27, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      Yes, salvation He certainly is Pam. I love that word, Yeshua. I’ve heard it many times before in my church as my pastor loves to bring in the true Hebrew word into His sermons. Thank you so much for your kind words. You are so genuinely sweet. Have a blessed day!

  2. annalisa9397 July 27, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Wonderful thoughts! Two years ago I was diagnosed with Lyme disease. Prior to my collapse I taught kickboxing, ran 30 miles per week, and worked out at the gym six days per week. I was a little obsessed!
    When I got sick I became bedridden and helpless. My mother in law had to live with us because I couldn’t take care of myself or family. It was a very difficult time in our lives. I fell into a deep depression – I went from non stop, on the go, type A personality, busy, happy wife and mom to someone who couldn’t walk without help, didn’t remember my kids’ names, sicker than one can even describe. I couldn’t believe what had happened to me.
    I questioned God every second. I tried to figure out why I was being punished. I wanted to die.but one night I had a dream and God came to me while I was in a burning fire and told me he was taking me out of this mess and I would be okay.
    From that day forward I became a changed person. God has been with me every step of the way through treatment of this horrible disease. I know without a doubt how much he loves me. He has changed me. I am getting better. I am back to exercising. I thank God every day for my blessings in my life. I praise God every day for my trials…I am so happy to be alive.
    I love this website! Thank you!
    Annalisa

    • freshfitnhealthy July 27, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      Wow Annalisa, this story brought me to tears. What a testament of God’s faithfulness and goodness. I wish a life with Christ meant a trouble-free life, but unfortunately it is far from that. When we are changing the world around us for Christ, the devil will be attacking with all he can to stop the good works happening. It is hard not to question God during these times. I know many times myself I have done the same. Thankfully, we have an eternal hope and joy that can never be taken away. We can have the joy of knowing that this life is but a blink compared to the everlasting glory that we will soon experience. Our struggles only strengthen us and mold us into the person God has meant for us to be<3 You will be in my prayers Annalisa, thank you so much for sharing your story, it was one that surely touched my heart. God bless!

      Your sister in Christ,
      Sarah

      • annalisa9397 July 27, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

        Thank you, Sarah! I don’t think one can understand why we go through the things we do, but you are right…we are here for just a moment…and I am now filled with eternal hope and joy :) Before Lyme disease I knew God was around and watching over me, but now I KNOW God is in me, beside me, with me, and helping me every second!
        Yes, please keep me (and all other people suffering from Lyme) in your prayers. It is such a devastating disease for people and their caregivers. I am one of the lucky ones to be as healthy as I am again :)
        I look forward to more wisdom from you!
        God bless you!

Leave a Reply

