Pina Colada Mugcake

11 Jul

The day has finally come. Remember that mugcake contest over Instagram I have mentioned a few times (like here and here)? Like I have told you all before,  Susanna,who is hosting this contest, (TastyHealth), also had a 4 week pancake challenge back in the spring. Unfortunately after entering in each week with the most creative recipes I could come up with, I didn’t win (stil great recipes though that you can find on my site!).

When she began this 4 week mugcake challenge, I knew I had to participate again. The first week was chocolate themed, and unfortunately, I didn’t win (even though my good friend Amy DID win!). This past week was then a new theme, fruit. I knew I had to do something special.

When it comes to desserts, I am usually more of a chocolate lover rather than fruit, but I do love my pina coladas. I knew that is what I’d make! I scooped out the coconut from its shell that I bought at the store, and decided I would make the shell my “mug” for the full pina colada effect.

This recipe has absolutely NO sugar, except all the delicious, fresh fruit in it. It is all you could want in a fruit, healthy dessert, and more! Let this dessert take you away to a tropical island :)

P.S. I won!

photo 3

Piña Colada Mugcake:
▫2T coconut flour
▫2T oat flour
▫1/2 cup cubed pineapple
▫1/4 cup melted ripe banana
▫1/4 cup egg whites
▫1T fresh coconut (or unsweetened shredded)
▫3T almond milk
▫2T cottage cheese
▫1/2 tsp vanilla and coconut extract
▫1tsp baking powder
▫1 coconut shell (if desired to cook cake in)

For Pineapple Coconut Cream:
▫2T cottage cheese
▫4 one-inch cubes of pineapple
▫1/4 tsp coconut extract

◻Directions: Melt half a very ripe banana in microwave for 30 seconds. Place all other cake ingredients with banana in blender (except coconut shell) and blend until smooth. Pour batter into 1/2 a coconut shell (filling only 3/4 full) or normal coffee mug. Cook in microwave for 2 minutes. For cream, blend all ingredients until smooth. Top cake with a spoonful of cream. Sprinkle with chopped macadamia nuts, and toasted coconut if desired!

3 Responses to “Pina Colada Mugcake”

  1. looks delicious! I’ve been eyeing pineapple today at the store while working hehe. Can’t wait to get it tomorrow :)

    • freshfitnhealthy July 12, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      Thank you Ally! Pineapple is definitely delicious. This is a must make if you buy some :)

  2. jeffrey c July 14, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    This inspired me to make my protein island cookies. I have them on My instagram mrfitcolorado . So amazing! Thanks

Leave a Reply

