Carrot Cake Mugcake & Notella Covered Strawberry Mugcake

10 Jul

Yes, two last mugcakes that I wanted to share. I promise, after this I will stop. They are just so good and easy! I usually can’t wait for desserts to get done baking before I just snack on other things, so these work perfectly for me.

The Carrot Cake mugcake was inspired by a friend I have met through instagram. He is an amazing Texan chef, and trains hardcore as he is an incredible triathlete. If you haven’t been to Jason’s website, you should go check him out here! Anyways, he liked to make jokes about these mugcake creations, as he likes to keep his food real and would rather bake a dessert (I guess it makes sense, he is a chef!). BUT, after my many mugcake creations, I think I tempted him a little bit, and he told me if I could make a dairy free mugcake (preferably carrot cake or pecan pie), he would make it and eat it! I instantly got into the kitchen. I knew I needed to make one so he would finally have one.

What resulted was a delicious, carrot cake mugcake that even my mother said was the most delicious one so far (well, an equal competitor to my pina colada one which I’ll be posting soon).

photo 1

Carrot Cake Mugcake
-2T coconut flour
-1 ground flaxseed
-4T almond milk
-4T egg whites
-1/2 small ripe banana
-4 baby carrots, cooked
-1T each: chopped walnuts,shredded coconut, honey
-1/2 tsp baking powder
Directions: Combine all ingredients in blender except nuts and coconut, and blend until smooth. Add in nuts and coconut. Pour into mug and cook in microwave for 1.5 minutes. Top with Coconut Cream if desired!

Coconut Cream (Dairy-Free)
Option1: Whip the contents of canned coconut milk until stiff
Option2: Blend 2T soft tofu, 1T honey, 1/2 tsp coconut extract

__________

Remember that healthy version of nutella I made, called not-tella?! Well, I made a chocolate strawberry mugcake as well one day, with that delicious “not-tella” taste! If you haven’t seen it yet, you better go check it out soon right here. If you are wanting a fruity yet chocolate-y (I know it’s not a word, but it fits in my lifestyle great) mugcake, this one is for you! If you want the sweet taste of carrot cake, that the first one is for you! For me, I had to compromise and make one for dessert one night, and one the other night:)

photo 4

Not-tella Covered Strawberry Mugcake

For Cake:
-2T hazelnut flour
-1T flaxseed
-3T egg whites
-1T Greek yogurt
1tsp baking powder and stevia
**Separate into two small bowls
In one: add 2 mashed up strawberries+1T water
In other: add 1 tsp cocoa powder+1T almond milk

*Spray mug. Place strawberry “batter” in first, then chocolate batter on top. Cook for 2 minutes.

For Strawberry Cream:
-2T Greek yogurt
-2T ricotta/cottage cheese
-1T almond milk
-2 strawberries
-Sweetener to taste, pink food dye optional
*Blend altogether until smooth

Not-tella Dip/Spread
-For every one-cup fresh nut butter, blend one very ripe banana and 2T cocoa powder in until smooth (can add milk or water if desiring a thinner consistency.

*Assembly: Place half strawberry cream on plate. Place mugcake on top. Top with rest of cream. Place a spoonful of “not-tella” spread on top along with a not-tella dipped strawberry. Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Carrot Cake Mugcake & Notella Covered Strawberry Mugcake”

  1. Fiedme July 10, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    So quick and easy!! And I agree, I can never wait for baking to be done before I eat something else!! I love carrot cake and will be trying this out, thank you! Is there an alternative to putting it in the microwave?

    • freshfitnhealthy July 11, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Hello! You could always go the conventional way (which would actually taste better probably), and bake it in a ramekin (or any other oven safe dish!). Hope you enjoy!

      • Fiedme July 11, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

        Would you keep the ingredients and quantities the same?

      • freshfitnhealthy July 12, 2013 at 10:28 am #

        Yes! However I cannot guarantee anything as I have never baked it myself! I am almost positive it will even turn out better baked though :)

  2. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 11, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    Not for nothing but that looks phenomenal. Seriously impressed and you know I love the ingredients. We move Saturday and in the new house next week and I’ll be stocking the fridge and pantry with these ingredients and then LOOK OUT…..mugcakes for all!

Leave a Reply

