Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter & Pumpkin Protein Crepe

7 Jul

I have TWO recipes to share with you today. I have been going a little bit crazy with the pumpkin lately. But when you have delicious, fresh puree to use, why not?!

I love nut butters, all kinds. Well, all MY kinds that are made fresh and healthy, without added sugars and bad oils that is! I literally am pulling out my food processor at least one time if not two times a week to make some. It just seems to..disappear. Weird.

And I don’t think I have to tell you how much I love pumpkin. So the two combined together to create a smooth, creamy, fall favorite flavor–flawless. I was tempted to just eat it all with a spoon! (Okay so maybe I did have a spoonful or two and made sure none was wasted on the food processor). Anyways, it is a must try if you are a fan of pumpkin! A warning that I sometimes don’t think of since mine never lasts that long, nuts go bad when combined with liquids after about a week, so make as much as you think you will have in that time frame (and keep refrigerator!) :)

Next up, I came home from a long 4 hour morning of organic chemistry class (yes, I am stuck taking organic chemistry during the summer), and wanted a protein packed sweet treat. I was going to resort to egg whites and have something on the side at first after not being able to decide, but then knew I really wanted to use my pumpkin once again. So, call me crazy, but I combined the two. What resulted from the combo+ some other ingredients, was something I can’t quite call a pancake, or a crepe, or a sweet omelette. I wasn’t really sure what to call it, but crepe was the closest in texture :) I filled it with some vanilla “cream”, and had a delicious, sinlessly sweet pumpkin creation sitting on my plate. High in protein, healthy and delicious. Don’t judge it until you try it!

photo 1

Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter
-1 cup walnuts, toasted
-1/4 cup fresh pumpkin puree
-1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
-1 tsp ground flaxseed
-1 tsp cinnamon and vanilla extract
-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Optional: Sweetener of choice (fresh pumpkin was sweet enough for me, but if using canned, you will want to add 1 or 2T honey or 1 packet of stevia)
Directions: Food process toasted nuts until butter forms–this will take about 5-10 minutes of blending. (Check out how to make homemade nut butter here). When smooth nut butter has formed, add all other ingredients and blend until thoroughly combined. Enjoy! Great on toast, oatmeal, or any other way you typically use nut butter!

photo 2

Pumpkin Protein Crepe with Vanilla Cream filling
For Crepe:
-2/3 cup egg whites
-1/3 cup pumpkin
-2T cottage cheese
-1T ground flaxseed
-1 tsp baking powder and vanilla extract
-dash of sea salt
*Sweeten to taste (fresh pumpkin and my filling were sweet enough for me alone)

Vanilla Cream
-1/4 fat-free or low-fat ricotta cheese
-1/4 greek yogurt
-1/2 very ripe big banana
-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Optional: 1T honey if banana isn’t sweet enough

Directions: Blend all crepe ingredients until smooth in blender. Cook in pan on medium heat until done (makes one big crepe or 2/3 small). Blend all vanilla cream ingredients together. Fill crepe/crepes with filling, and roll up! (Mint leaf for decoration) Enjoy!

Pumpkin Benefits:
1) High in Vitamin aid which aids in eyesight
2) High in fiber to keep you satisfied
3) Rich in Beta Carotene with plays a role in cancer prevention and benefit your skin
4) More potassium than a banana (great post workout food!)
5) Rich in Vitamin C to keep you fit and healthy

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/10/05/pumpkin-health-benefits_n_1936919.html
2 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter & Pumpkin Protein Crepe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {Travel Snacks} Homemade Nut Butters | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 21, 2013

    […] have a couple of homemade nut butters on my site already, like my Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter, my healthy version of Nutella called “Not-tella“, and my Almond Joy Butter. But I made […]

  2. Cinnamon Apple Pancake Mix [Recipe Redux] | Fresh Fit N Healthy - November 21, 2013

    […] dream about all my pumpkin creations, like my pumpkin dip, pumpkin pancakes, pumpkin smoothie, or pumpkin pie walnut butter! […]

Leave a Reply

