Pumpkin Breakfast Pudding

4 Jul

Why yes, yes it certainly is another pumpkin recipe. How after this post you may ask? I found myself a huge real “calabaza” in my food store, baked it, and the product was a whole lot of delicious pumpkin puree. Is it just me or is fresh pureed pumpkin so much more delicious than the canned stuff? I don’t even need sweetener for most of my pumpkin recipes when using fresh! And there is no way I could do that with canned pumpkin.

Back to how this was created. I woke up really wanting to use my fresh pumpkin in my breakfast, but wasn’t wanting anything hot like oatmeal or my pumpkin french toast. I knew I wanted some of my all natural, 4-ingredient cottage cheese as well, and that is when the wheels started turning.

I took out my nutribullet, measured out equal parts of pumpkin, cottage cheese, raw bran, and a couple other things, and I truly was surprised with the result. I did not think it was going to be that good. Boy was I wrong. I didn’t even need to add any sweetener!

When I had reached the bottom of my jar, it was a sad day. Just kidding, but I was wishing I had more of it to eat! This was a delicious and healthy way to start my morning. Pumpkin has so many nutritional benefits, and this was high in protein and fiber as well to keep that tummy satisfied!

photo 3

Pumpkin Breakfast Pudding
-1/2 cup fresh pumpkin(can used canned)
-1/2 cup almond milk
-1/4 cup cottage cheese
-1/4 cup raw bran (can use oats if you don’t have)
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-dash of sea salt
Directions: Blend in high speed blender until smooth. Add sweetener if desired. Fresh pumpkin is so sweet to me on its own that I didn’t need any! (I topped mine with baked cinnamon pumpkin seeds, fresh pumpkin puree, and cinnamon)

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Breakfast Pudding”

  1. Serena July 5, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Yum! Creative, high protein breakfast ‘treat’! What is raw bran?

    • freshfitnhealthy July 5, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

      Hi Serena! It is a form of unprocessed wheat that is very high in fiber and a good addition to any cereals, yogurts, or baked goods!

  2. Liz Liz (@tizmizzliz) September 23, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Finally got to try this recipe out, delicious!! I love the consistency of it! I made a jar of it to give to my mom as well :)

    • freshfitnhealthy September 23, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      Awh that makes me so happy to hear that you like it!

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

