2 Delicious Chocolate PB Mugcakes (Reese’s Cup, and Chocolate PB Cinnabon)

3 Jul

This is what happens when a challenge arises. See, I may have stopped running competitively, but oh do I still have that competitive spirit! That is why I find it so fun to participate in these challenges via Instagram. Like I said in a previous post, one of my favorite instagram accounts to follow, TastyHealth, is putting on another fun challenge. Remember the last challenge she did back in spring, when I kept making those delicious pancake stacks?! (like here and here!) Well, now she is putting on a mugcake challenge! The first week’s theme was chocolate. Oh I do love my chocolate. I already posted my Mocha Coconut Latte mugcake, but I submitted two more entries this week as well! I came up with a delicious, Reese’s Cup mugcake, and a Chocolate Peanut Butter Cinnabon mugcake!

Both were so absolutely delicious. I made one for my brother when he came in town for a few days, and then I also introduced my sister to mugcakes with the other one! They both were big fans. By the way, did I ever mention that my brother is opening his OWN RESTAURANT?! He is indeed! A healthy fast food type restaurant, called SoFresh! (click here for the website!) If you live near the Tampa, FL area, you should definitely check it out when it opens in July!! I am so proud of him :)

Anyways, mugcakes have become one of my favorite desserts when wanting something quick, healthy, yet delicious. Perfect for a college student or anyone not having much time to bake! I didn’t make them too often before this challenge, except for this chocolate one, but now I am hooked! Even though I still believe real food is of course always a better option. But when wanting a dessert, this is definitely a great option compared to most!

photo 4

photo 2

Got you convinced that you should make one yet?!

Reese’s Cup Mugcake
For Cake:
-2T peanut flour
-6T egg whites
-2T water
-1tsp psyllium husks
-1 scoop chocolate greens powder or 1T cocoa powder with stevia to taste
-1tsp baking powder

For Peanut Butter Cream Filling:
-2T fat free ricotta cheese
-3T almond milk
-2T peanut flour
-1/2 tsp pb extract (can omit)
-1/2 melted ripe banana

For Chocolate Shell:
-1/2 cup Greek yogurt
-2T cocoa powder
-2T honey or 1 packet stevia

Directions: Combine all mugcake ingredients together. Pour into mug and cook for 2 minutes. Melt banana in microwave in bowl for about 30 seconds (gives caramelized taste), and mix in the rest of all cream ingredients. Cut mugcake in half, and full with peanut butter filling. Mix together “shell” ingredients, and top cake with this ” chocolate shell”

Chocolate PB Cinnabon Mugcake

For Cake:
-2T peanut flour
-1T oat flour
-3T egg whites
-1T Greek yogurt
-1/2 scoop chocolate greens powder
-1tsp all natural pb
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp butter extract
-1tsp baking powder

For Chocolate Topping
-1T cacao powder
-1T water
-1T honey

For PB Swirl
-1tsp melted all natural pb
-1/4 tsp butter extract

Directions: Mix all cake ingredients together. Place in mug and cook for 1.5 minutes. Top with chocolate sauce. Swirl in melted pb. Top with cacao nibs if desired

17 Responses to “2 Delicious Chocolate PB Mugcakes (Reese’s Cup, and Chocolate PB Cinnabon)”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 3, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    I am convinced BUT since you love challenges here is one for you: Make this dairy free and then I will make and post my first (maybe last) mugcake!

    • freshfitnhealthy July 3, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      Oooo this is a challenge I like! You posting a mugcake, I never thought I would see the day!!

      • Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 3, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

        If you create it I will make it AND post it. They look great by the way. Seriously awesome and I know I could go for a little cake right now.

        Maybe if I put it altogether and then have my wife put it in microwave and remove and set on counter I could pretend as if it were baked in the oven……hahahahahaha!

      • freshfitnhealthy July 3, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

        Challenge ACCEPTED.

        What your eyes don’t see, your mind doesn’t know ;)

      • freshfitnhealthy July 3, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

        Specific flavor request? :p

      • Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 5, 2013 at 7:14 am #

        I love the PB chocolate one you have here already. My favorite desserts are: pecan pie, key lime pie, carrot cake and any cookie I can get my hands on. So you have options here and the challenge is on!

      • freshfitnhealthy July 5, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        Can’t wait to see your post once I do it :)

      • Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 5, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

        Truth be told I cannot wait to make one……FINALLY!

      • freshfitnhealthy July 5, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

        I think I found your match :) too bad you won’t see it till monday since I’m taking a break from instagram for the weekend :)

  2. thekatiepotatie July 3, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh my goodness. Both look amazing… trying this tonight!!

  3. Devora July 4, 2013 at 5:09 am #

    These look so tasty! I love the peanut butter and chocolate combo, so I’m going to have to try these! By the way, I can’t click on the links in your post, it’s like they’re not hyperlinked. I want to see the pancake recipe! :)

    • freshfitnhealthy July 7, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      Hi Devora! I’m so sorry, the links are now fixed and you can click on them! I have other pancake recipes as well that you can find under my breakfast tab :)

      • Devora July 9, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

        Awesome. Thanks, girl! And I look forward to checking out your brother’s restaurant the next time I’m in Tampa. It’s about time more healthy places started popping up! :)

      • freshfitnhealthy July 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

        Of course, sorry about that! But I know, I am so proud and excited for him. I can’t wait to go to the opening day!

  4. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 6, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Good for you. Stay off the grid.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pina Colada Mugcake | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 11, 2013

    […] come. Remember that mugcake contest over Instagram I have mentioned a few times (like here and here)? Like I have told you all before,  Susanna,who is hosting this contest, (TastyHealth), also had a […]

Leave a Reply

