Savory Peanut Protein Bread (and why I rarely use protein powder)

1 Jul

I use to make high protein recipes a lot, using protein powders as my source to accomplish that. But ever since my sugar detox, and realizing just how many artificial ingredients and sugars there are in most protein powders, I haven’t used them. Now I am not saying I am completely 100% against them and will not ever use them again, as there are some decently clean powders out there; but I am a big believer now in eating real food vs. processed food for most of my nutrients.

This is a huge change in perspective as when I was a competitive athlete, I would drink protein shakes at least once a day, and make tons of protein powder recipes. But I just truly believe that the best way to get all your nutrients is through real food. The real, unprocessed, natural food that God has provided us. Why consume all of this processed junk when the natural stuff is so delicious in itself?! Fruit is nature’s candy, and it truly has satisfied all my sugar cravings during this detox of mine. It is so sweet in itself, why add extra syrups and sauces and junk to it? I just get very confused when seeing a ton of people claiming to “eat clean” and live a healthy lifestyle, spending hours in the gym, only to come home and fill themselves with processed powders as recovery. Or even better, fix something that is healthy, like oatmeal or Greek yogurt, only to load it up with sugar free chocolate syrups(aka processed artificial sugars), “protein icings” (made of processed protein powder and water), sugar-filled bars or store-bought cereal, and my ultime favorite, TWO or THREE packets of artificial sweetener mixed in–and then claim its a clean recipe!! One packet of stevia or whatever their choosing would already be so sweet, but two or three?! It just shows how artificial sweeteners make you crave an unnatural, extremely sweet taste. Which is why I did my sugar detox in the first place, as I was one of those who for a long time, which fell into the false thinking of “sugar free” products being good since they were “calorie free”. But oh was I wrong. Thankfully, I was shown the light and now am freed from all of that :)

Anyways, enough of my ranting, let us get to the recipe! I wanted a bread higher in protein, but didn’t want to use protein powders. I realized my peanut flour was very high in protein, (16 grams for every 1/4 cup!) so I knew that was the flour I would use. Plus, who doesn’t like the slight taste of peanut butter in their foods? I know I usually add nut butter on top of my breads anyways! But I didn’t want to make this a sweet bread. I wanted this to be more of a bread I could use for savory meals and snacks. Which meant I knew I couldn’t use all peanut flour.

But then I found one of my other great flour buys that was high in protein, soy flour! Now, if you have never tried it, let me just tell you something. Without cooking it, soy flour tastes horrible. I learned my lesson when tasting the dough of something I baked in the past. I thought I had surely ruined my creation, but decided to bake it anyways. But to my surprise, when coming out of the oven, the muffins I was experimenting with turned out amazing!! The soy flour now did not have the horrid taste to it! So for the other base flour of this bread, I knew I wanted to use my soy flour.

I have been experimenting with breads so much lately, really wanting to create a paleo bread that in high in protein, not too high in calories, yet actually doesn’t taste like cardboard like all the ones in the store! I have made some absolutely delicious attempts at this, but they will not rise. Ever. Never ever. It has been so frustrating as I have been wanting to share this delicious recipe that I’ve been tested multiple times, but not once have I got it to actually rise well! So I guess I will keep on trying until I find the secret :) (Any tips would be awesome!) But anyways, so as my paleo bread wasn’t working in my favor, I decided to try a different bread, that wasn’t paleo exactly, but still very  nutritious and containing no gluten! This was my result (on the first try too!!).

photo 1Savory Pumpkin Bread
-3/4 cup peanut flour
-1/2 cup soy flour
-1/4 cup raw wheat bran
-1 egg
-1/2 cup egg whites
-1/2 cup water
-1/4 cup Greek yogurt
-1 tsp sea salt and cinnamon
-2 tsp baking powder
-Optional: honey/stevia to sweeten as desired
Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Mix all ingredients except baking powder together in bowl until smooth. Add baking powder and stir until incorporated. Spray bread loaf pan (medium sized) with cooking spray. Pour batter into pan. Cook for about 20-30 minutes, until browned. Enjoy!

Peanut Benefits
1)Rich in energy, containing many nutrients, minerals, antioxidants and vitamins
2)Good levels of mono-unsaturated fatty acids
3)Good source of dietary protein
4)Great source of resveratrol, an antioxidant found to protect against cancers, heart disease, and fungal infections
5)Excellent source of vitamin E, which maintains and protects cell membranes and skin
6)Packed with B vitamins

6 Responses to “Savory Peanut Protein Bread (and why I rarely use protein powder)”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race July 1, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Looks awesome.

    I agree with you on your rant. Don’t tell me how clean you are and then every time we talk or I see a post all I see is this protein powder or that cheat meal that seems to happen ALL THE TIME.

    Anyway, I see you have egg whites in here which is a natural levener along with baking powder but how about yeast? Dry active yeast might help you with that rising bread issue.

    • freshfitnhealthy July 1, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Haha, it is waaay too frequently seen in the IG world of “clean eating”. But thank you for the insight on the bread! I will definitely try that next time and see. I’m trying to remake this paleo bread I buy, that has great nutritional values, yet tastes like cardboard! So I’m hoping to find a successful one soon :)

  2. Serena July 5, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Another high protein breakfast option that looks delicious and is a BREAD! Wow, high protein bread that tastes delicious…I will try for sure!

    • freshfitnhealthy July 5, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      It is so delicious and a great way to start the day :) let me know how you like it!

  3. Kira October 6, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    I really want to try this recipe However I don’t eat peanuts, would almond flour substitute well and in equal amounts?

    • freshfitnhealthy October 7, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      I can’t verify for sure as I have never tried that, but it very well may!

Leave a Reply

