Savory Chia Wrap (Single-Serving)

12 Jun

Chia seeds are so beneficial. Just 1 tablespoon, would be the nutritional equivalent of a smoothie made of the omega 3 filled salmon, iron rich spinach, calcium rich milk, and antioxidant filled blueberries (not saying you’d want a smoothie like that, but you get the comparison)!  So when I saw Chia flour, I knew I had to buy it! And of course, come up with a great way to use it.

There is nothing quite like a homemade wrap. Especially when it’s high in protein and very healthy! Last night I was wanting some kind of bread, but had run out of all my store-bought paleo loaf, so, I decided to create a wrap of my own. The best thing about this recipe, its for a single serving that you can make extremely quick! Or you can multiply the ingredients to make many. Either way, its a quick and healthy way to make your own wrap!

But what I did with with one of these wraps after making it was what became my dinner and was so absolutely delicious. I decided to toast it, and make a pizza, using this as my crust!

This recipe is so versatile. Use it in the morning with eggs, in the afternoon  as a turkey wrap, or at dinner like I did with making a pizza! No matter how you choose to make this, you will not be disappointed, because the wrap itself is so delicious. Did I mention, it’s only 4 ingredients?!

photo

The darker ones are made of all chia flour, the lighter ones are made of 1T each: peanut flour and chia flour :)

Savory Chia Wrap
-1T chia flour (no chia flour? substitute any other gluten free flour!)
-1T peanut flour
-1/2 cup egg whites
-1/8 tsp baking powder
-salt to taste

Directions: Heat a pan on the stove with a touch of oil. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl, and mix until smooth and all clumps are gone. Pour “batter” into pan, and tip pan around to even out the batter around the entire bottom. Cook on low heat with lid on. When the wrap is set, flip on the other side to slightly brown. Remove from pan. Enjoy in any way you like! Feel free to multiple batter to make many like I did. Keep in refrigerator for up to a few days.

My Chia Wrap Pizza! I toasted the wrap until browned, and topped with cottage cheese and sauteed kale and bell peppers.

My Chia Wrap Pizza! I toasted the wrap until browned, and topped with cottage cheese, sauteed kale and bell peppers.

6 Responses to “Savory Chia Wrap (Single-Serving)”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race June 12, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Holy Scnhikes Lady!!!!! What a great idea. I may have to get chia flour to make tacos with. This is awesome.

    What is the brand of chia flour you used so I can look for it? Thanks.

    • freshfitnhealthy June 12, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      This was that “meal with kale” I was talking about :) It’s called Dowd Rogers Gluten Free Chia Omega Blend. Its actually made with chia, rose tapioca, millet, and chestnut!

      • Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race June 12, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

        Appreciate it. Will be on the look out for this along with the date sugar I saw on IG last week.

  2. overthinkerdreamer June 29, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Wao! Just came across your IG page and now taking a look at your blog! Love the recipes, and this one in particular is something I was looking for, thanks a lot!!!!!!! :)

    • freshfitnhealthy June 29, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      Awh, happy you found it! Let me know how you like the wraps! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Taco Salad | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 2, 2013

    […] on this heavy laden taco salad. And boy, it is delicious! Made with ground turkey and my homemade chia wraps, toasted as tortilla chips. Oh, and a protein packed delicious creamy dressing instead of that […]

Leave a Reply

