Sugar Detox Comes to an End…Or Does It?!

11 Jun

Yesterday marked the end of my 21-day sugar detox! It was such a wonderful experience. Here I thought I would be counting down the days until I could have sugar again..but time went by so quickly, I almost forgot it was coming to an end!

In the beginning, I was having to give up so many foods that I normally ate, like stevia in my coffee, chewing gum throughout the day, protein powders, agave in my Greek yogurt, ketchup and honey mustard that I used all the time, and the list goes on. Oh, can’t forget my vitamins and probiotics that had FRUCTOSE in them! I couldn’t believe it. But, cutting sugar completely out of my diet, helped me feel just all around so much better! And I learned some important lessons:

1) Check your food label ingredients. Buy the kind with the least ingredients (and one that you know what they are!)
2)As much as I missed making all my yummy shakes with protein powder, after working out, the best fuel to give your body is real food. Not all these processed powders and bars. I found things like chicken and sweet potatoes or cottage cheese and fruit as such great refuel after workouts instead of my typical shakes.
3)SO many things have added sugar that you would never guess. Again, check your labels.
4) There are so many ways you can add natural sweetness without sugars, such as dried fruit like dates and figs, or even fresh fruit like strawberries, bananas, watermelon, and berries!

Here is an excellent example about checking your ingredients. Most cottage cheese brands, like publix, friendship, and breakstones all have many ingredients, some of which you don't even know. But Daisy brand only has FOUR. And they are all natural, with no preservatives or additives on the label. Which one are you going to choose next time?

Here is an excellent example about checking your ingredients. Most cottage cheese brands, like publix, friendship, and breakstones all have many ingredients, some of which you don’t even know. But Daisy brand only has FOUR. And they are all natural, with no preservatives or additives on the label. Which one are you going to choose next time?

To sum up these past three weeks, its been such a great lifestyle change. This didn’t become just a 3 week challenge, only to go back to the way I use to eat. This was a way to change my habits, and to get away from that s0-s0 sweet taste that I wanted everything to be. I will NEVER use artificial sweeteners like Splenda or buy any of those “sugar free” products (aka, tons of added fake sugars and chemicals) again. Stevia will be limited, as I now have such a different liking for sweetness, that many things I use to have to load with agave or stevia like greek yogurt or grapefruits, I like plain now!  And natural sugars like agave and raw honey will mostly be the only types of sweeteners I use.

I love the new lifestyle, and how I feel with no sugar, that I’ve decided to extend my sugar detox until the end of June! My good friend Amy (find her over at Fit Fun and Fantastic) and I who originally began this challenge, will both be continuing our no sugar lifestyle for a little bit longer! Are you in?! Feel free to join now :) You can find me on instagram at @FreshFitnHealthy if you want to follow my day to day no sugar creations!

As for now..how do you feel about added sugar? I believe raw honey is great for our bodies, and am in no way saying I’m staying away from that for a little longer because I think its bad. But eating no sugar except that naturally occcurring in fruits and vegetables, has made me feel so wonderful! So why not continue my journey for a bit longer? :)

4 Responses to “Sugar Detox Comes to an End…Or Does It?!”

  1. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race June 11, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    Thank you to you both for allowing me to participate in the sugar detox. Tremendous experience for me as well even though boxes and packages were already kept to a minimum. You know my deal with honey but I am going to do my best to keep it at bay.

    March On Sugar Fighter!

    • freshfitnhealthy June 11, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      It was so great having you a part of it, encouraging us along with all your delicious meals! When I do return, honey will definitely be my only daily sweetener, with some stevia (but only the natural leaf) as well. Thanks again for all the encouragement!

  2. amybclevenger June 12, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    You are awesome! And this post is great! I am so happy we started this journey together! I definitely never plan on looking back! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Breakfast Pudding | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 4, 2013

    […] anything hot like oatmeal or my pumpkin french toast. I knew I wanted some of my all natural, 4-ingredient cottage cheese as well, and that is when the wheels started […]

Leave a Reply

