“Not-tella” and Banana Nut Muffin Butter

9 Jun

This may have been my greatest idea yet. I have been on a nut butter craze since this no sugar challenge. Also, with just eating healthier and avoiding bad fats, I have been loading up on all the delicious good fats, like homemade almond butter, avocados, and coconut oil! I am not exaggerating when I say I make homemade nut butter at least once a week. I dont know what happens. One moment, the jar is full..and a few days later, it has disappeared! :) I have also been eating an avocado a day–a new favorite food of mine!

So I went to go make my normal weekly raw almond butter, but then saw 2 ripe bananas that needed to be dealt with. Usually I just cut these up and freeze them (my favorite snack!), but today, a genius idea came into my mind.

I had wanted to make a sweet nut butter for awhile. Specifically, a chocolate one. But with no sugar allowed, I decided against it for awhile..until today.

What you’re about to see below is what I would like to call “Not-tella”. What kind of name is that you may ask? Well, this is surely not that name brand Nutella stuff..similar, but so much better. And did I mention it is so much healthier?! Ahh I think I died and tasted a bit of heaven when licking the spoon the first time. I could eat this whole batch. But I won’t. Let’s just hope it makes it through the week :)

I also made a batch without cocoa powder in it. This I would like to call banana nut muffin butter. Why? Well, it’s a nut butter, it has bananas, and tastes like a delicious, creamy butter version of banana bread!

If you try one thing tomorrow, this must be it. You will be SO thankful you did.

photo 3

Not-tella
-2 cups raw almonds (can use store bought butter–1 cup)
-1 large ripe banana
-1.5 T cocoa powder
Directions: Food process enough almonds to make 1 cup of nut butter (about two cups). This step will take awhile. Once blended into butter, add in 1 large ripe banana. Blend again. Add in cocoa powder. Blend once more. Enjoy! Keep refrigerated.

For Banana Nut Variety: Leave out cocoa powder. Add 1/4 cup chopped almonds after all blending is done (for a banana NUT muffin taste!)

For Almond Joy Variety: Add 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut with banana and blend. You can also add coconut extract if desired. For a non-banana almond joy recipe, check this post out.

photo 1

Blend the nuts into butter first

photo 2

Add chopped banana and blend

 

photo 3

Banana Nut Muffin Butter Variety!

Banana Health Benefits:
1)High in potassium which prevents muscle cramping
2)counteracts calcium loss
3)Helps overcome depression because of Tryptophan
4)Heightens your mood, relieve PMS, and cause relaxation
5)High in B6 which prevents swelling and aids in weight loss
6)Rich in pectin which aids in digestion
7)High in fiber
8)Makes you more alert

Almond Healthy Benefits:
1)Relief from respiratory disorders
2)Aids in hair, skin and dental care
3)Improves digestion
4)Can relieve coughs
5)Good for those with diabetes
6)Heart Healthy

12 Responses to ““Not-tella” and Banana Nut Muffin Butter”

  1. sandrinatcarvalho June 9, 2013 at 5:20 am #

    Reblogged this on fionabluerecipes and commented:
    Preparing to go to work and found this amazing recipe! In our house we are all peanut butter and nutella fans, so I must try this much healthier version :) What do you eat for breakfast?

  2. alexadeemer June 9, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    Love this!!! Definitely going to have to try making these. Yay for healthy fats!

    • freshfitnhealthy June 9, 2013 at 10:34 am #

      hehe :)) Let me know how you like it!!

      • alexadeemer June 9, 2013 at 11:04 am #

        I will!!! 😊

  3. Jason @ Cook Train Eat Race June 9, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

    Holy Sh*t…..this has just been bookmarked for future use. Nicely played!

    • freshfitnhealthy June 10, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      I feel honored. I am now bookmarked on the Texan chef’s computer..haha

  4. Maria Zucchero (@mkzucchero) October 3, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

    I made this today for the first time and I’m IN LOVE. So far I’ve put it on a brownie Quest bar and some strawberries. I’m in guilt free heaven lol. Thanks so much for the recipe!

    • freshfitnhealthy October 4, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Awh yay! It makes me so happy to hear great feedback. Glad you liked it :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrot Cake Mugcake & Notella Covered Strawberry Mugcake | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 10, 2013

    […] taste! If you haven’t seen it yet, you better go check it out soon right here. If you are wanting a fruity yet chocolate-y (I know it’s not a word, but it fits in my […]

  2. {Travel Snacks} Homemade Nut Butters | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 21, 2013

    […] on my site already, like my Pumpkin Pie Walnut Butter, my healthy version of Nutella called “Not-tella“, and my Almond Joy Butter. But I made two new, absolutely delicious butters to share with […]

  3. Etta Morreau - September 11, 2013

    Hi

    […]associated with online games it was likely the many wonderful period of my child years and[…]

  4. Healthy Pumpkin Challah | Fresh Fit N Healthy - November 17, 2013

    […] or some of my delicious homemade nut butters (like my java one, almond joy one, or even better, my healthy “not-tella” […]

Leave a Reply

