Ricotta Crostinis Appetizer

28 May

I mentioned  a couple weeks back about a surprise birthday I was planning for my mom. Well, it went great! And a big part of it was how amazed the guests were at the delicious food :)

This is one of the appetizers I made. Crostinis with ricotta and a variety of toppings.

I had never made crostinis as an appetizer before, but when I saw something like this on here, they just looked too good.

So, I bought all the ingredients, and made a quick, easy, yet delicious appetizer that all the guests enjoyed so much. Getting low fat cheese will make this appetizer healthier than normal, and topping it with all fresh ingredients will make it even better!

With being on a sugar detox for 21 days, I’ve made these a few more times to cut those sugar cravings :)! Great sweet and savory options.

photo 1

Ricotta Crostinis
-1 8oz container of low fat ricotta cheese
-1 loaf of french bread (small diameter)
-toppings of choice: chopped figs and agave, sun-dried tomatoes with sea salt, cucumbers with sea salt, blueberries with jam, smoked salmon and dill
Directions: Cut loaf of bread into thin circles, about 1/2″. Spray lightly with olive oil or apply thin coat of butter and toast in oven at 350 degrees until crispy but not browned(about 10 minutes). Let cool. Top with ricotta cheese. Layer desired toppings on ricotta. Serve!

2 Responses to “Ricotta Crostinis Appetizer”

  1. eatingrunningsmiling May 28, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    This recipe looks great! I’m actually planning a surprise birthday party for my mom for June 30th. I’ll have to make these :)

    • freshfitnhealthy May 28, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

      Thats so funny, I know everyone at my mom’s party loved them! Glad you can put the recipe to good use :) The toppings are endless you can do, so have fun with it! Fresh fruit and honey is another good one, and smoked salmon with dill :)

Leave a Reply

