21 Day Sugar Detox

19 May

Will you be joining?

I got really bad at one point with artificial sugar. I fell into that false thinking that low calorie (or no calorie for that matter!) meant healthy, and tried to sweeten everything with splenda or stevia, and bought every “sugar free” (which by the way, is NOT free of sugar, just has fake sugar) product I could find..low calorie does NOT mean healthy everyone. A lot of those products actually are worse as they have so many chemically modified ingredients :( Thankfully, I’ve realized that and live stay away from it all. I still use stevia occasionally, but mostly use agave and honey now.

But, because of the use of so much artificial sweetener in the past, that is MANY times sweeter than regular sugar, I have such a sweet tooth! It’s so bad, I love everything so sweet. Since using such a sweet form of sugar for so long, I just don’t like anything that isn’t super sweet anymore.

SO, a friend and I (check her out at fitfunandfantastic.wordpress.com!) have decided to nip our sugar cravings and super sweet likings by going on a 21 day sugar detox! Yes, that is a whole THREE weeks without ANY sugar. The only sugar we are allowing ourselves is sugar that is naturally occurring in fruit and veggies, ect. But NO stevia, other artificial sweeteners, honey or agave.

photo

Want to join in on the challenge? I dare you :)

This may be one of the hardest things I have ever done, but I am SO excited to step up to the challenge! I think it’ll be so great for my body, and such a healthy change from all the sweetness I’m use to! Guess I won’t be drinking my morning coffee anymore, as I certainly wouldn’t enjoy it without sweetener :p

P.S. Do you realize how many foods we eat in our day to day life that we add sugar to unknowingly or has hidden sugar added you would have never expected? You know that gum you chew every single day..yep, tons of sugar..even the “sugar free” gum (fake sugar alert!).  And no sugar in that coffee/tea or bite of chocolate at night! Make sure to look at everything you eat, because many dried fruits, nuts, and so many other products you buy have added sugar :X

I’ll try to begin posting some little creations here and there that I make as my substitute dessert :)

 I’d love to know if you’re willing to join in on the challenge! If you have an instagram, follow me! @freshfitnhealthy, and tag any posts about this sugar detox with #FFsugardetox :)

5 Responses to “21 Day Sugar Detox”

  1. ruthenicholas May 20, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    Love it! Me and a friend in work went totally sugar free two weeks ago and we haven’t eaten anything apart from whole food (no packets). Good luck, and I’m right there being sugar free with you!

    • freshfitnhealthy May 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      Wow that is awesome! My mom is on the whole30 program so I’ve been eating mostly just whole food (mostly raw) too! Glad to see someone else with the same goals :)

  2. amybclevenger May 20, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

    So excited! So far so good! :)

    • freshfitnhealthy May 20, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

      Had my tea with no additions this morning :) and used some regular mustard instead of honey mustard at lunch! No gum :)

      • amybclevenger May 20, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

        Great job!!!!

Leave a Reply

