Pumpkin Mousse

21 Apr

Mousse: “A sweet or savory dish made with smooth whipping cream”

Wait..whipping cream? Even if you aren’t a health nut, we all know that anything with “cream” in it, isn’t healthy at all usually! But that doesn’t mean that this girl can’t find a healthy alternative! And guess what..you don’t like pumpkin? Well I made a chocolate variety too! Mmm, now that’s what I’m talking about. Chocolate and pumpkin, my two favorite things<3

How did I make it healthy when mousse is founded upon cream and other fattening ingredients?! Well that’s what I’m about to share with you.

I made a chocolate variety way back last year by accident when experimenting different ways with tofu. (Say what?!). Yep, tofu. But then the need for it sparked my memory. For the pancake weekly challenge I’ve talked about in previous posts (like my mochonut pancakes and berry coconut chai pancakes!) I’ve been attempting to create pancake sandwiches, (a spin off of the loved yet unhealthy ice cream cookie sandwiches). But I needed a healthy filling instead of ice cream. What did I decide upon? You got it! My tofu mousse from long ago! (Please don’t write it off till you try it! You don’t taste a “tofu” taste!)

You can’t tell me that this makes you’re mouth start watering… :)

photo

Pumpkin Mousse
-6 oz silken tofu (or other tofu brand)
-1/2 cup pumpkin
-2 T cottage cheese
-2 T greek yogurt
-1/4 cup agave
-1 tsp each: cinnamon, vanilla extract, xanthan or guar gum (for thickening!)
**For chocolate alternative: Sub in avocado for the pumpkin+add 2T cocoa powder, or leave out pumpkin and avocado altogether and just add cocoa powder!
Directions: Blend all ingredients together. Let sit in refrigerator to thicken more. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Mousse”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookie Pancake Sandwiches | Just livin a happy healthy life - May 15, 2013

    […] For pumpkin mousse, go to my post here […]

  2. Watermelon Lime Pudding | Fresh Fit N Healthy - July 25, 2013

    […] I’ve made another recipe similar to this, but pumpkin flavor! As you know by now, that too is one of my favorite foods. That one can be found here. […]

Leave a Reply

