Cranberry Jelly

10 Apr

Who says cranberry jelly is only for Thanksgiving and all the other big holiday dinners with turkey?

I sure don’t think so! I love making homemade jellies to put on toast in the morning, or as a snack throughout the day (especially on top of peanut butter)! Yes, as you can probably tell I’m a little nut butter obsessed as I make so many of my own varieties (and more recipes will be coming!), but sometimes I’m just feelin more of a jelly mood:)

You may ask, isn’t jelly full of unneeded sugar and calories? Why would you eat this for breakfast? Why yes, it is..which is why I made my OWN jelly that isn’t so packed with sugar and other processed ingredients! Why NOT make it part of your daily diet under these circumstances?! See, I don’t think of this recipe as I would think of that cranberry jelly you buy in a can and serve for thanksgiving–that jello looking, not so good stuff. I think of this as more of like any other kind of jelly you would buy, like your normal strawberry or grape, that you find in jars. It’s more of that consistency and yummy goodness! And, it’s best of both worlds..because it is still SO good served with turkey! Mmmm.

Use it as a spread on toast/waffles, a dip for crackers, something to spice up your plain yogurt with, or a jelly for meat (or just eat with the occasional spoon to mouth technique like me!) I won’t judge :)

photo 2

Homemade Cranberry Jelly
-1 16 oz bag of cranberries
-4 cups water
-1/2 cup agave/stevia
-1 T guar gum/xanthan gum
-touch of sea salt (while boiling on stove)
Directions: Heat water on stove to boil. When boiling, add cranberries and reduce to medium/high heat. Allow to cook for 5 minutes (cranberries will begin to “pop” as they crack). Add in T of gum and salt, cook for 10/15 minutes more until it has thickened quite a bit. Add agave/sugar in. Taste and add more sweetener if desired. Enjoy! Store in jar in fridge.

Leave a Reply

