Mochonut Pancakes filled with Coconilla Yogurt

5 Apr

It all started when I went to the local Christian coffee shop to study, and asked them to make me something yummy, something new for once from my usual latte. They made me this mocha coconut latte. Do I need say any more? Maybe that it was heaven in a cup?

photo

Well last week, I was planning on entering a pancake competition via Instagram (Follow me @FreshFitnHealthy) :). Each week for three weeks this user was going to make a category of pancake to enter. Last week the theme was “protein pancakes”.

Naturally I accepted the challenge. I kept asking myself, what is something new, something really unique. And after having this latte, I knew what I should create.

Mocha Coconut latte flavored pancakes, Mochonut for short :) Unfortunately, I didn’t win the contest. But this week is a new week, and it’s berry pancake theme! Wish me good luck! But for now, here is the recipe for these still awesome(even though not first place), pancakes:)

photo 2

Mochonut Pancakes

For Pancakes:
-1 scoop vanilla or chocolate protein powder
-1/4 cup coconut flour
-1/2 cup egg whites
-1/2 cup almond milk
-2 T cottage cheese
-2 T mocha cappuccino mix (or 1 tsp instant coffee)
-2 tsp cocoa powder
-1 tsp coconut and vanilla extracts
-1 tsp baking powder
-1 packet stevia
-touch of cinnamon and sea salt

*Directions: Mix all ingredients together, blend until smooth. Cook on stove in coconut oil.

For Coconilla Yogurt filling:
-1 cup Greek yogurt
-1 tsp coconut extract
-1/4 cup homemade coconut butter
-agave to taste

Directions: Mix all together until thoroughly mixed. Fill layers of pancakes with yogurt mixture.

One Response to “Mochonut Pancakes filled with Coconilla Yogurt”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 4-Ingredient Pumpkin Banana Pancakes [Paleo Option too] | Fresh Fit N Healthy - November 11, 2013

    […] use to make pancakes all the time, like these mocha coconut ones, these banana bread ones, and these fun honeycomb ones too! And boy have I missed […]

Leave a Reply

