My First Cooking Demo Class

25 Mar

Wow, where do I even start! I guess I can begin by telling you first that a few others and myself just established a culinary arts club at my college, University of Florida, at the beginning of this Spring semester. Yesterday, we had our first cooking demo in front of other students! It was so much fun. As the food director, I create the recipes, and preform the actual cooking in front of the students. Last night, we decided to make homemade pasta (yes, completely homemade!), and a combo of both tofu, and shrimp spring rolls.

It was such a great experience! It was my first time having to cook in front of others while instructing them how to make it themselves. The other executive board members took part in it as well. I was mostly in charge of making the pasta, rolling it out, and cutting it.

Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (15 of 26) Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (12 of 26) Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (13 of 26) Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (14 of 26)

My one friend Kim, cooked the shrimp and tofu, and then prepared the spring rolls.

Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (21 of 26)photo 3

And the other members helped with all the additional preparations, like the sauteed veggies that were later mixed in with the cooked pasta, and the yummy and delicious sauce for dipping the spring rolls in, made of coconut cream, Hoisen sauce, creamy peanut butter, and much more!

Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (3 of 26) Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (18 of 26) Casu Spring Rolls & Pasta Demo (23 of 26)

Overall it was a great night! Of course some stress beforehand with preparations and getting everything together for an event like this, but that’s what begins the adrenaline and allows everything to proceed with excitement!

Recipes for the homemade pasta and spring rolls will be up soon:) Until then, keep letting me know of anything you would like to see! As it is all of you that make this site what it is :)

2 Responses to “My First Cooking Demo Class”

  1. Her Happy Balance March 25, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Sounds like a fun experience! I’ve always wanted to make pasta from scratch and yours turned out great!

    • freshfitnhealthy March 26, 2013 at 4:41 am #

      It is so much fun to do, especially with friends of family! You should definitely do it sometime soon if you want. I’ll be posting about exactly how I made mine soon!

Leave a Reply

