Red Velvet Cake Shake

21 Mar

Has a nice flow to it, right? Well let me tell you, the taste of this most certainly upholds to the greatness of the Red Velvet name! Not to burst anyone’s bubble, but did you know red velvet cake is mainly just chocolate cake? I know there’s always a huge hype about the stuff, but its really not much different than your normal chocolate cake. I think its the addition of the typical cream cheese frosting that everyone is truly crazy about. I mean, who wouldn’t be??

Thankfully, this shake does indeed taste better than just your normal chocolate one, I mean, it is red velvet cake flavored..and we all know how good that is!

It was actually inspired by this! Even though it was quite a let down because this extract doesn’t taste much like red velvet, at least to me. Smells and tastes like a red skittle to be exact. Not what I was going for when buying a “red velvet” extract. But still, it is what sparked my desire for this flavor shake, and I came up with the ingredients to flavor it as I pictured the real stuff would.

photo

I love making my shakes thick enough to serve in a bowl and eat with a spoon. It’s the best way to enjoy one in my opinion. You’ll realize a lot of my more decadent shakes are made this way:) The best thing about shakes, they are so healthy, it can even serve as a quick breakfast or post workout shake! Or forget the protein, and add more sweetness (maybe even some frozen yogurt!) and make it a decadent shake for a treat!

Along with this today, I made my own cranberry jelly, and then hosted a cooking demo for my culinary club here at the University of Florida where I made homemade pasta and spring rolls in front of other students! It was such a great experience. I’ll be posting more about that tomorrow though:) All in all, today was a food-filled day most certainly! But with school work and a big biology exam Friday morning, my books are calling my name! Goodnight everyone!

Watermarked Image

I topped my red velvet shake today with some oats, homemade coconut protein cake all crumbled, and some clean homemade chocolate syrup! Yum.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Red Velvet Cake Shake
-1.5 cups almond milk (or any other kind of milk)
-1 scoop vanilla protein powder (not necessary, but makes it thicker and protein packed!)
-1/2 frozen banana(not too ripe unless you want it to taste like banana)
-1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
-2 T low fat cream cheese/cottage cheese (can be fat free if you really want)
-1/4 cup oats
-2 T cocoa powder
-2 T devils food pudding mix (can omit)
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-Agave, honey, or natural sugar to sweeten!
Directions: Blend altogether! Add more milk for a thinner consistency, or more oats for a thicker shake!

Leave a Reply

