Cauliflower as Pizza Crust?

7 Mar

I kept seeing it and reading it all over the place. Cauliflower “rice”, cauliflower “mashed potatoes”, and last but certainly the most interesting to me, “cauliflower pizza crust”. I’m sure you seen it at least once or twice too!

Well, I decided to finally take a try at it. I’m usually pretty skeptical with things like this, as I rather have a smaller quantity of something actually tasty than something “low in calories” but tastes like cardboard. I can’t decide how I feel completely about it after making it. It was in no way bad at all! And I can’t say that I didn’t gobble up the whole entire pizza myself, but I also can’t lie and say it tasted exactly like the thin, crispy crust that I love. Don’t let me lead you to believe it wasn’t a good recipe, as I did love it! Like I said, I’m just not sure a severe craving for new york style pizza would be met :)

I did mix some things up from a “normal” cauliflower crust recipe, with adding some soy flour for extra protein and flaxseed for good healthy fats and fiber! For a crust made up of almost straight veggies and packed with protein, I can’t say that it wasn’t a meal I thoroughly enjoyed :)

So all in all, I would have to say it was certainly something different and yet very good for a “healthy” pizza. If you are looking for something more nutrient dense and healthier than pizza to satisfy your craving, this is surely for you! Also, if you are serious about gluten free, this is a GREAT option! And for those who are neither of these two, well, for as healthy as it is, this would even make a good side to any other meal you might be preparing! I want to get your thoughts on this. What do you think about these recipes that have recently been coming out with cauliflower in place of flour and other carbs? Do you like them? I’d love to hear!

IMG_5576

Cauliflower Pizza
-2 cups of cauliflower (processed until looks like rice)
-2 T soy flour
-2 T ground flaxseed
-1 egg
-1 egg white
-Seasoning as desired: garlic salt, onion powder,salt, pepper, and italian seasonings.
-Desired toppings: (for mine) fresh pizza sauce, sauteed spinach, roasted red peppers, fresh basil, and feta cheese

Directions: Cook cauliflower until soft (about 5 minutes in microwave). Mix all ingredients up through seasonings together. On parchment paper (don’t skip this, it WILL stick), flatten out dough to desired thickness, pinching dough on sides to make a “crust”. Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes. Add toppings. Bake for another 5 minutes. Enjoy!

10 Responses to “Cauliflower as Pizza Crust?”

  1. Santa Monica Pizza & Pasta Co. March 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Reblogged this on Santa Monica Pizza & Pasta Co..

  2. toeknee22k March 14, 2013 at 4:42 am #

    I made one of these last niight too. Was absolutely brilliant. This is going to be perfect for “what am I going to use the rest of the stuff in my fridge for”… pizza topping!

    • freshfitnhealthy March 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      Exactly! The best pizzas are the ones that are loaded up :)

  3. Hayley March 24, 2013 at 2:58 am #

    What could I sub for soy flour? This looks so good!

    • freshfitnhealthy March 24, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      I would use any of the following! Wheat flour, oat flour, almond meal, brown rice flour, or coconut flour. Those are the most nutritious flours that I use, but you could really substitute any flour!

      • Hayley March 24, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

        Thanks! I am going to make it tonight!! =]

      • freshfitnhealthy March 24, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        Of course! You’ll have to let me know how it turns out! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mashed Cauliflower – it’s a revelation | health-e-helen - March 10, 2013

    […] Cauliflower as Pizza Crust? (freshfitnhealthy.com) […]

  2. Cauliflower Crust Pizza: Spinach, Tomato and Olive | Health Kitts - March 13, 2013

    […] Cauliflower as Pizza Crust? (freshfitnhealthy.com) […]

  3. Cauliflower Pizza Crust–Take 2! | Fresh Fit N Healthy - May 26, 2013

    […] the first time making a pizza crust, it didn’t turn out exactly as I would have liked. It held together for […]

Leave a Reply

