Carrot Cake Shake

6 Mar

Carrot Cake, in a shake?!  I mentioned in my last post how I love creating protein filled shakes as I usually have one almost every night as my “snack after dinner”. So I have to mix it up every once in awhile and try to create a new flavor.

Last night before making my nightly shake, I wondered what kind of flavor I could try to create that was a little more unique than just good ole’ chocolate or even peanut butter. Pumpkin pie came to my mind first I must admit, but I’ve already experimented with that flavor, and thought I should probably do something NOT pumpkin for once :)

So, when thinking of other dessert flavors, naturally, the delicious taste of carrot cake popped into my head. But how to make a shake flavored like this creamy, spice-filled cake, and still make it healthy..challenge was happily accepted. And this was my result:)

photo

Carrot Cake Shake
-1 scoop vanilla protein powder
-1/2 cup cooked carrots
-2 T sf cheesecake pudding mix
-1/2 cup cottage cheese
-1/4 cup oatmeal
-1 cup vanilla almond milk (or soy milk)
-1 tsp of vanilla extract (and butter extract if on hand)
-1 packet of stevia or 2 T agave/honey
-ice
-Optional toppings: shredded coconut, crushed graham cracker,
and bits of cookie/protein bar (i used Quest’s cinnamon roll bar but
hardened in the cold and would probably not suggest)
Directions: Blend altogether! Can add guar gum or flaxseed if you want a really thick shake. Add toppings and enjoy to the fullest!

P.S. With this being so healthy, it can even serve as a quick breakfast or post workout shake! I use to drink shakes like this after my runs in the morning and it was exactly what my body needed to recover :)

5 Responses to “Carrot Cake Shake”

  1. thesandywatson May 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    I have got to try this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Carrot Cake M&M’s for my Rabbit | Silk & Tofu - March 24, 2013

    […] Carrot Cake Shake (freshfitnhealthy.com) […]

  2. The Healthiest Carrot Cake I Ever Met! | Wild And Wisdom - April 19, 2013

    […] Carrot Cake Shake (freshfitnhealthy.com) […]

  3. Weekly Challenge – Carrot Cake Shake « We Are 2Fit2 Quit - May 21, 2013

    […] Carrot Cake Shake […]

Leave a Reply

